RSS

Provider cannot be found. It may not be properly installed.

19 Nov

I installed a new Windows Server 2008 R2 and I hosted my own web server. All was going well until I tried to connect a virtual directory to an Access database driven site and I received this error:

Error 500: Provider cannot be found. It may not be properly installed.

After a short search, I found that I needed to enable 32bit applications on this 64bit OS.

The easiest way to do this is to follow these steps:

  1. Open IIS manager on your server
  2. Click on the Application Pools link in the left column
  3. Click on the application pool for your website
  4. Choose Advanced Settings from the right column
  5. One of the first options should state “Enable 32-bit applications”. By default it is set to FALSE. Change this to TRUE.

And that’s it. Simple aye!?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 19, 2012 in IIS, Server 2008

 

One response to “Provider cannot be found. It may not be properly installed.

  1. Dominga

    March 21, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    I’m really enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more
    enjoyable for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out
    a developer to create your theme? Fantastic work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
